Default 17 years and still going strong

These days it is 17 years since I started playing DDO on the Codemasters server Aureon.

I have had a couple of year long breaks, but came back both times. I have tried other games, games that may have better graphics, but not the endless psossibilties to build your character the way you want. So I lost interest, as I felt I just levelled up someone elses character, not my own. There is simply nothing like DDO out there.

I still play with people I met back on Aureon 17 years ago.

I love DDO, I hope I can play another 17 years

Quote Originally Posted by Wahnsinnig View Post
    These days it is 17 years since I started playing DDO on the Codemasters server Aureon.

I have had a couple of year long breaks, but came back both times. I have tried other games, games that may have better graphics, but not the endless psossibilties to build your character the way you want. So I lost interest, as I felt I just levelled up someone elses character, not my own. There is simply nothing like DDO out there.

Congratulations!

I have tried other games, games that may have better graphics, but not the endless psossibilties to build your character the way you want.

I too have looked for games mechanically similar to DDO and had as much luck. Those endless possibilities are DDO's greatest barrier to entry for new players. The type of person willing to put in the time and who favors the subject material has already self-sorted into small minority of gamers at best. The limited potential market simply precludes any production resources. Until the tools and infrastructure exist which will enable a small, independent team of devs to produce and profit from a comparable platform, which is a few years away at most, we will have to enjoy what we have.