Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: c++

  1. #1
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default c++

    why does the launcher download c++ every time I start it now? been happening since the update

    win7 64 ultimate

    windows is kept up to date

  2. #2

    Default

    Hey mdram,

    This one is most annoying, easy to fix, and not entirely Turbine's fault.

    Based on the dependency version (2005, 2008 or 2010 - All of which can be required), you can install the redistributable VC++ package from Microsoft to make this go away. Here are the links for VC2005, VC2008 and VC2010. Check to see what version is being downloaded over and over again, install the correct package and your problem will disappear.

    Best of luck!

    EDIT:

    Just in case, here are links to the VC2012 and VC2013 packages as well. I already have those installed and don't know if Turbine has migrated to those versions or not.
    Last edited by sebastianosmith; 12-13-2014 at 01:45 PM.
    The newest computer can merely compound, at speed, the oldest problem in the relations between human beings, and in the end the communicator will be confronted with the old problem, of what to say and how to say it. - Edward R. Murrow (1964)

  3. #3
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    i think it is turbines fault

    it was fine prior to patch

  4. #4
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    847

    Default

    I'm having the same issue after u24. I've had this issue on and off several times. The first time, it went away after I installed a different game, last time I reinstalled ddo and that fixed it. I'll try reinstalling c++, and if that doesn't work, I'll probably reinstall ddo again.

  5. #5
    Community Member Wanesa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    370

    Default

    It is bug in the launcher. It tests for different version than it finally installs. For example, it searches for VS2005 (which is not present) however it actually need VS2008, which it is forced to reinstall on every start - decided on failed test.

    Thelanis: Shewind the Airbender (Sorc20/Epic5 -> Bard20/Epic8 -> Rog20/Epic8/Epic2 -> Harper_FvS20/Epic4 -> Art20/Epic8/Epic8 -> Rng20/Epic10 -> Drd6),
    Azaxe (Rog18/Wiz2 -> Sorc20/Epic8/Epic10->Sorc(EK)17)

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanesa View Post
    It is bug in the launcher. It tests for different version than it finally installs. For example, it searches for VS2005 (which is not present) however it actually need VS2008, which it is forced to reinstall on every start - decided on failed test.
    Really? I thought it was the static link bug in the VC2K8 compiler. I assumed that somebody was building with an old project file and forgot to change the compiler flags since this problem seems to show up with every other update. Oh, Turbine.
    The newest computer can merely compound, at speed, the oldest problem in the relations between human beings, and in the end the communicator will be confronted with the old problem, of what to say and how to say it. - Edward R. Murrow (1964)

  7. #7
    Community Member Wanesa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    370

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sebastianosmith View Post
    Really? I thought it was the static link bug in the VC2K8 compiler. I assumed that somebody was building with an old project file and forgot to change the compiler flags since this problem seems to show up with every other update. Oh, Turbine.
    Compiler cannot arrange checking and downloading latest runtime libraries. Result code simply shows an error dialog-box when appropriate libraries are missing. So there must be some other tool, that checks and/or download and/or installs them.

    Launcher is written in C#. DDO client is written in C++. It uses shared libraries, so it requires some DLLs to run. During some update release in the history, they upgraded project to use newer compiler, which requires new runtime libraries. They probably updated download-list, but they forgot to update code that checks, whether runtime is already installed. So screnario is probbaly this:
    1) launcher checks for old version of the runtime (which is missing and no longer needed)
    2) launcher decides that it is need to download and install new version
    3) launcher perform these tasks and launches MS installation tool
    4) MS installation tool executes, perform checks and because it is tool for new version of the runtime and that is already instaled, it performs no action and exits.
    5) Because MS tool requires high elevation, it probably shows that annoying dialog

    Solution: Install all available VS runtimes, especially all old onens

    Thelanis: Shewind the Airbender (Sorc20/Epic5 -> Bard20/Epic8 -> Rog20/Epic8/Epic2 -> Harper_FvS20/Epic4 -> Art20/Epic8/Epic8 -> Rng20/Epic10 -> Drd6),
    Azaxe (Rog18/Wiz2 -> Sorc20/Epic8/Epic10->Sorc(EK)17)

  8. #8
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    847

    Default

    When I kept pressing no when ddo asked to install c++, it actually opened the microsoft website with the download for the 2005 x86 version (I'm on an x64 machine). I downloaded and ran that and ddo no longer asks me to install it every time.

  9. #9
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanesa View Post

    Solution: Install all available VS runtimes, especially all old onens
    doenst work. there is an issue with turbines coding.

    they really need to test things a bit better

  10. #10
    Community Member Ghwyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    448

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peng View Post
    When I kept pressing no when ddo asked to install c++, it actually opened the microsoft website with the download for the 2005 x86 version (I'm on an x64 machine). I downloaded and ran that and ddo no longer asks me to install it every time.
    This worked for me.

  11. #11
    Community Member irnimnode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    270

    Default

    dose anyone have an old copy of DDO Live and Preview the new ones do not seem to want to update after installing my pc crashed during the move to Ohio so i am trying to install it on my lady's pc znd it gets the error of cannot decrypt or deserlize for some reason if you could email me an old copy at i1dumguy@yahoo.com i would greatly appreciate it

  12. #12
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Obviously it does this because they want people to purchase DDOMLoader or PYLOTRO for the percentage they receive. Oh wait... those are free. Yeah, I got nothing.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanesa View Post
    Solution: Install all available VS runtimes, especially all old onens
    Unfortunately, this does not always work.

    When my laptop died last summer, I downloaded and installed the C++ libraries before DDO specifically to avoid this problem. It still tried to download the libraries. Every time. At some point they fixed this - I'm not sure if it was U23 or a patch somewhere. And now, with U24, they broke it again.

    I just checked, and I currently have the following Visual C++ redistributables installed:
    * 2005
    * 2005 (x64)
    * 2005 (x64)
    * 2008 (x64)
    * 2008 (x86)
    * 2010 (x64)
    * 2010 (x86)
    * 2012 (x64)
    * 2012 (x86)
    Yes, that's 2 separate copies of 2005 (x64). I assume they are different versions (no version numbers are listed, but they are different filesizes).

    I recall there used to be a text file that you could edit to make it not download all the cruft, but apparently they "fixed" that problem. Also "fixed" is I now have to sit through downloading all the non-English splash screens again. I guess they figured they weren't wasting enough bandwidth or something? (Someday, somebody will invent a way to overlay text on top of a picture, so we won't have to sit through downloading unnecessary files all the time. Oh to be in the future with that magical super technology...)

    In the meantime, I'm back to using a combination of DDOPreloader and pylotro until the competent programmer is back from his vacation or whatever.

    (Curiously, LOTRO does not have this problem, and I don't think it ever has. It would be nice if they could just fix in the DDO launcher whatever is working correctly in the LOTRO launcher.)

  13. #13
    Hatchery Hero BOgre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    807

    Default

    Here's what happens on my machine:

    1) Launch DDO
    2) Launcher returns a message saying "Retrieving content list from Akamai"
    3) Launcher goes thru checking for the 3 languages worth of splash screens
    4) Launcher attempts to download MS c++ 2005 redist
    5) Windows pops up the usual security alert --> click "YES"
    6) Launcher REPEATS steps 2, 3, and 4 -- Yup, you heard right, TWO runs through of checking the damned content list, splash screens, and c++ 2005
    7) Windows pops the alert again -->click "YES" again.
    8) Launcher displays the update progress and client checking bars
    9) Finally the login window

    These are the dists my control panel shows I have installed:
    2005 - 8.0.61001
    2005 (x64) - 8.0.61000
    2008 x64 - 9.0.30729
    2008 x64 - 9.0.30729.6161
    2008 x86 - 9.0.30729.6161
    2010 x64 - 10.0.40219
    2010 x86 - 10.0.40219

    Now, this ain't game breaking, but it's highly annoying and unprofessional. Please Turbine, can haz fixed?!
    Quote Originally Posted by Towrn
    ...when the worst thing that happens when you make a mistake at your job is someone complains on the internet, you probably care a little less!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload