Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    2015 DDO Players Council
    Ravenguard Press

Default Monarch - A guild for newer players

I’ve been playing DDO for a couple years now, and I have to admit that it is my first MMO; I’m not one of the discontent WOW players or someone who had experience with the original NWN or Diablo games to draw from. One thing that really intrigues me about DDO, is the amount of creativity you can have when building your characters (although I think more can be done to help with the physical appearance of characters and the ability to customize to a greater degree), and it seems there are only more of these abilities to craft a complex, and fun to play character in the near future.

With this ability to be creative and diverse comes a very steep learning curve for newer players. Yes, there is a very robust set of player guides and forum resources available for people to pull from; there are also some excellent mentoring programs that vet players have developed to help new players with questions about game play, builds, strategy. There is a lot of value in these types of resources; a lot of hard work and time has gone into these resources, which is absolutely commendable to those who have dedicated their time and energy into doing it.

Many of these new players have been embraced by guilds that seek to bolster their ranks with new blood, and to be honest, don’t spend a lot of time to help develop the abilities of their members. I have recently formed Monarch as a place where newer players can come to feel like they are part of a family, and to learn many of the lessons of the game that cannot be taught by reading the forums and start guides. A place to learn, grow, and be part of a family that looks out for each other, and takes an active part in mentoring, training, and coaching them to become solid players.