I am +1ing you here, because I have been saying this since I can remember.
The fact that a vorpal sword is magically sharp, doesn't discount the fact that it is simply lopping off your head...which should kill your average Joe. Same goes with assassination. There is no magic involved in stabbing somebody in the back and piercing their heart and brain stem. It will kill you...just not if it is looked at as "magical".
Deathward shouldn't protect you from physical damage. If that's the case, anyone who has deathward on should never die from physical attacks....
“No Battle Plan Survives Contact With the Enemy”
Vampires are immune to critical hits.
Vampires can be vorpaled.
aaaaaaaaaaaaaand, SCENE!
Kobold sentient jewel still hate you.
This is only your interpretation. Let's look at rules.
So. You attack with your +5 Vorpal sword. a) You roll 20, this is threat. b) Now, by critical rules, you roll to confirm, and c) if it's confirmed, you deal damage and behead opponent.Originally Posted by SRD
Now, let's look what happens when you attack 100% fortified enemy. This time, critical hit is negated. It just didn't happened. And there was no confirmation roll, and Vorpal wasn't "followed by successfull roll".
Note that Vorpal by rules does not grant confirmation roll. It uses critical' one.
(On a side note, (any) Burst needs "successful critical hit" and would be negated too.)
On physical vs magical, I don't even wanna start. The only argument one can stretch is that, crafting Vorpal weapon requires knowing spell "Circle of Death", thus it's death magic releases and beheades enemy - but this is speculation and written nowhere in the rules.
I don't know what to do with rabbit, so I'll try to explain in more simple wording.
All Vorpals ARE criticals, they both occur on 20. (But not all criticals are vorpals, obviously)
Vorpal and critical both use ONE (same) die roll to confirm. You don't confirm vorpal separately.
When critical hits 100% fortification, its negated. So, it isn't confirmed. As if there wasn't critical at all.
Vorpal's condition ("followed by a successful roll to confirm the critical hit") fails to trigger, so vorpal negated as well.
This is by 3.5E rules.
Cheers
Last edited by Derailment; 01-29-2013 at 04:31 PM.
And this is the source of discontent.. no where does it say ALL vorpals are criticals.. it says on a roll of 20 - that of course is also natural hit and threat. It would be great if WoTC would just say, 'YEA/NAY' you have to be able to crit a mob to get vorpals to apply..
I actually thought fortification (or prevention of crit) would nullify a vorpal in both DDO and PnP just because thats how we played PnP.. great discussion!
The other way around. It's those examples contradicts 3.5E rules, which I quoted.
By the way, nowhere in rules it says mobs are "crit immune". It says "not subject to critical", whatever that means.. Another ambiguous wording.
Anyway, in our case you have two options:
a) Specific beats general. Examples listed in vorpal allow "some" aberrations, oozes, golems, undead + vampires to be critted. This does not change way critical mechanics works, just remove immunity from those mobs listed.
b) Ignore examples which contradicts rules. Because, you know, they're just examples. Who cares, what happen to zombie when it lost its head, if that cannot happen by rules.
No disconnection here... I quoted rules, vorpal uses confirmation roll from crit rule, and iirc there is no weapon which doesn't crit on 20.
Disconnection actually is in fortification description. "Negates critical hit" could be read as: you roll to-hit, then confirmation, then apply vorpal, and THEN discard only critical effect and keep vorpal effect.. But that's too cheesy for my taste. This is ain't MtG![]()
Last edited by Derailment; 01-29-2013 at 11:48 PM. Reason: sp/punctuation
Huh? It's not me who confused by rules. Fortification negates the whole critical, including additional "kinda attack" roll, which exist ONLY when there is critical.
But actually I think its fine to play with whatever DM rulings or houserules you like, while it works for your group.Originally Posted by SRD
Cheers
Last edited by Derailment; 01-30-2013 at 04:38 AM.
Fortification negates the critical, but does NOT prevent other effects from processing on the same roll. The roll to confirm a critical is a normal attack roll (woith bonuses), that will activate the critical hit when it hits. Fortification will not prevent this roll from being made, it just prevents the critical damage. More or less the same way having DR does not prevent the attack from hitting you even if it prevents the damage from rpocessing.
And yet, it will prevent. I already quoted rule already 2 times on this page:
"The critical hit is negated and damage is instead rolled normally"
Critical hit is negated AND damage is rolled normally.
Critical hit negated. Damage rolled normally.
It's not just "critical damage negated". It's "say no to critical hit". I hope we done with this part.
Not sure what you mean, but I agree reading is always good.
I was answering on "no where does it say ALL vorpals are criticals."
In the critical rules, it says all 20's are (possible) criticals and have confirmation roll.
All vorpals also happen on 20's, and use critical's confirmation roll (not its own; one from critical rules).
See? Vorpal can't be on non-critical hit. QED
No sir, its actually me explaining mechanics behind it, while some others change wordings to fit their opinion. I'm arguing to help people understand rules better.
Basic case:
1. You make attacking roll
2. If you hit, you deal normal damage.
Critical case:
1. You rolled 20 on attack
2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
3. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)
Fortification case: this is toughest of all.
1. You rolled 20 on attack
<- 100% fortification negates critical hit and critical damage
2. No critical, so rules does not grant you confirm roll anymore.
3. You deal normal damage (autohit)
Vorpal case is easy after that:
1. You rolled 20 on attack
2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
3a. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)
3b. If you confirm, you vorpal enemy. It uses same confirm roll.
Combining Vorpal and Fortification
1. You rolled 20 on attack
<- 100% fortification negates critical hit and critical damage
2. No critical, so rules does not grant you confirm roll anymore.
3a. You deal normal damage (autohit)
3b. Vorpal doesn't trigger, there wasn't successful confirmation roll.
And just to illustrate, that all vorpals are crits, but not all crits are vorpals:
1. You rolled 19 on attack with 19-20 weapon
2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
3a. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)
3b. Vorpal doesn't trigger, it's not 20 roll
Last edited by Derailment; 01-30-2013 at 12:01 PM. Reason: added