Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 92
  1. #41
    Community Member Vua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derailment View Post
    Huh? It's not me who confused by rules. Fortification negates the whole critical, including additional "kinda attack" roll, which exist ONLY when there is critical.



    But actually I think its fine to play with whatever DM rulings or houserules you like, while it works for your group.
    Cheers
    This is not a house rule.

    Magic Weapons and Critical Hits Some weapon qualities and some specific weapons have an extra effect on a critical hit. This special effect functions against creatures not subject to critical hits, such as undead, elementals, and constructs. When fighting against such creatures, roll for critical hits as you would against humanoids or any other creature subject to critical hits. On a successful critical roll, apply the special effect, but do not multiply the weapon’s regular damage.

  2. #42
    Community Member bartharok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,275

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derailment View Post
    No sir, its actually me explaining mechanics behind it, while some others change wordings to fit their opinion. I'm arguing to help people understand rules better.

    Basic case:
    1. You make attacking roll
    2. If you hit, you deal normal damage.

    Critical case:
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
    3. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)

    Fortification case: this is toughest of all.
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    <- 100% fortification negates critical hit and critical damage
    2. No critical, so rules does not grant you confirm roll anymore.
    3. You deal normal damage (autohit)

    Vorpal case is easy after that:
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
    3a. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)
    3b. If you confirm, you vorpal enemy. It uses same confirm roll.

    Combining Vorpal and Fortification
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    <- 100% fortification negates critical hit and critical damage
    2. No critical, so rules does not grant you confirm roll anymore.
    3a. You deal normal damage (autohit)
    3b. Vorpal doesn't trigger, there wasn't successful confirmation roll.
    Sir, you clearly have no idea of the mechanics of fortification, or the effects that are triggered by criticals.

    Fortification merely negates the critical damage, that is all it does (well, it negates sneak attack damage as well, but thats beside the point). It does not negate the critical roll.

  3. #43
    Community Member Vua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derailment View Post
    No sir, its actually me explaining mechanics behind it, while some others change wordings to fit their opinion. I'm arguing to help people understand rules better.

    Basic case:
    1. You make attacking roll
    2. If you hit, you deal normal damage.

    Critical case:
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
    3. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)

    Fortification case: this is toughest of all.
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    <- 100% fortification negates critical hit and critical damage
    2. No critical, so rules does not grant you confirm roll anymore.
    3. You deal normal damage (autohit)

    Vorpal case is easy after that:
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
    3a. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)
    3b. If you confirm, you vorpal enemy. It uses same confirm roll.

    Combining Vorpal and Fortification
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    <- 100% fortification negates critical hit and critical damage
    2. No critical, so rules does not grant you confirm roll anymore.
    3a. You deal normal damage (autohit)
    3b. Vorpal doesn't trigger, there wasn't successful confirmation roll.
    Where does it say you don't roll for critical confirmation due to fortification?

  4. #44
    Community Member Derailment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bartharok View Post
    Sir, you clearly have no idea of the mechanics of fortification, or the effects that are triggered by criticals.

    Fortification merely negates the critical damage, that is all it does (well, it negates sneak attack damage as well, but thats beside the point). It does not negate the critical roll.
    And yet you're wrong, I already quoted according rule 3 times:
    "When a critical hit scored, the critical hit is negated"
    http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems...#fortification



    Quote Originally Posted by Vua View Post
    Where does it say you don't roll for critical confirmation due to fortification?
    What exactly allow you to roll confirmation, when there is no crit? Please explain.
    (Please read quoted rules (http://forums.ddo.com/showpost.php?p...5&postcount=27) before doing so, so we don't go in circles)
    Last edited by Derailment; 01-30-2013 at 12:23 PM. Reason: inserted correct link

  5. #45
    Community Member bartharok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,275

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derailment View Post
    And yet you're wrong, I already quoted according rule 3 times:
    "When a critical hit scored, the critical hit is negated"
    http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems...#fortification





    What exactly allow you to roll confirmation, when there is no crit? Please explain.
    (Please read quoted rules (http://forums.ddo.com/showpost.php?p...8&postcount=27) before doing so, so we don't go in circles)
    The critical hit is the damage multiplier applied. This said multiplier is negated. Thats all that is negated.

  6. #46
    Community Member Derailment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Ok, now I see where we disconnect. Sorry, I don't agree. For me, "critical hit" is rule called http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/act...m#criticalHits, and not only small part of this paragraph telling about damage multiplication.
    Last edited by Derailment; 01-30-2013 at 12:33 PM.

  7. #47
    Community Member bartharok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,275

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derailment View Post
    Ok, now I see where we disconnect. Sorry, I don't agree. For me, "critical hit" is rule called http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/act...m#criticalHits, and not only small part of this paragraph telling about damage multiplication.
    We disconnect because you dont actually try to understand what is meant by the rule of: Critical hit is negated. It just means the multiplier to damage, nothing else.

    What youre doing is what we would have called rules lawyering in PnP, the only thing that it would do, is to get you banned from the playgroup.

  8. #48
    Community Member Derailment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0

    Default

    I don't agree on this either. We disconnect because YOU don't actually try to understand what is meant by rule of Critical hit is negated.

    (Also nothing wrong with rule lawyering either. You probably mean banned from YOUR group, but that's matter of preferrences)

  9. #49
    Community Member Vua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derailment View Post
    No sir, its actually me explaining mechanics behind it, while some others change wordings to fit their opinion. I'm arguing to help people understand rules better.

    Basic case:
    1. You make attacking roll
    2. If you hit, you deal normal damage.

    Critical case:
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
    3. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)

    Fortification case: this is toughest of all.
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    <- 100% fortification negates critical hit and critical damage
    2. No critical, so rules does not grant you confirm roll anymore.
    3. You deal normal damage (autohit)

    Vorpal case is easy after that:
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
    3a. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)
    3b. If you confirm, you vorpal enemy. It uses same confirm roll.

    Combining Vorpal and Fortification
    1. You rolled 20 on attack
    <- 100% fortification negates critical hit and critical damage
    2. No critical, so rules does not grant you confirm roll anymore.
    3a. You deal normal damage (autohit)
    3b. Vorpal doesn't trigger, there wasn't successful confirmation roll.


    And just to illustrate, that all vorpals are crits, but not all crits are vorpals:
    1. You rolled 19 on attack with 19-20 weapon
    2. By critical rules, you make another roll to confirm
    3a. If you confirm, you deal critical damage (if not, it's still autohit)
    3b. Vorpal doesn't trigger, it's not 20 roll
    Quote Originally Posted by Derailment View Post
    And yet you're wrong, I already quoted according rule 3 times:
    "When a critical hit scored, the critical hit is negated"
    http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems...#fortification





    What exactly allow you to roll confirmation, when there is no crit? Please explain.
    (Please read quoted rules (http://forums.ddo.com/showpost.php?p...5&postcount=27) before doing so, so we don't go in circles)
    The rule doesn't say not to roll for confirmation, it says it may be resisted. You're assuming you don't roll when someone has full fort and that's wrong. Read the rule I posted above about magical weapons and critical hits. I'll link it for you when I'm not on my phone

  10. #50
    Community Member bartharok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3,275

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derailment View Post
    I don't agree on this either. We disconnect because YOU don't actually try to understand what is meant by rule of Critical hit is negated.

    (Also nothing wrong with rule lawyering either. You probably mean banned from YOUR group, but that's matter of preferrences)
    We disconnect because of your desire for the unreal be real. It is the way it is, all the lawyering in the world wont make it any different.

  11. #51
    Community Member Derailment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vua View Post
    The rule doesn't say not to roll for confirmation, it says it may be resisted. You're assuming you don't roll when someone has full fort and that's wrong. Read the rule I posted above about magical weapons and critical hits. I'll link it for you when I'm not on my phone
    Ok I found your rule. Actually it's interesting. It says two things:

    1. When fighting against (creatures not subject to critical hits, such as undead, elementals, and constructs), roll for critical hits.
    This part effectively allow vorpal against creatures listed in vorpal entry. Thank godness.
    Also, its not what it says exactly, but you can stretch it to allow Vorpal to grant confirmation roll on it own. I can suppress rule lawyer inside me for that
    2. On a successful critical roll, apply the special effect
    This one requires successful confirmation to apply the special effect.

    Now back to fortification. Fortification is Magical effect too. It says:
    1. When a critical hit scored, there is a chance that the critical hit is negated
    2. in table, Chance for Normal Damage for Heavy fortification is 100%.
    That mean any critical will be negated.

    What relationship between those rules? I'd say, "Magic Weapons and Critical Hits" is specific to magical weapons and beat general critical rule. But, "Fortification" rule is more specifical, iand beats all weapon rules.


    TL;DR: I still rule "100% Fortification" beats "Magic Weapon and Critical Hits", because specific beats general.

    Thanks for discussion, really interesting mind exercise.
    Cheers

  12. #52
    The Hatchery kierg10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    781

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derailment View Post
    And yet, it will prevent. I already quoted rule already 2 times on this page:

    "The critical hit is negated and damage is instead rolled normally"
    Critical hit is negated AND damage is rolled normally.
    Critical hit negated. Damage rolled normally.
    It's not just "critical damage negated". It's "say no to critical hit". I hope we done with this part.




    Not sure what you mean, but I agree reading is always good.

    I was answering on "no where does it say ALL vorpals are criticals."
    In the critical rules, it says all 20's are (possible) criticals and have confirmation roll.
    All vorpals also happen on 20's, and use critical's confirmation roll (not its own; one from critical rules).

    See? Vorpal can't be on non-critical hit. QED
    you read discontent as disconnect.

    also by your reasoning flaming burst extra crit damage should be negated by fortification as it is an effect that happens on a critical.
    Last edited by kierg10; 01-30-2013 at 01:57 PM.
    Ckarlock Alarm (PDK bard 7 fighter 6 rogue 2) life 17
    Dragonbloodz Power (Drow sorc 20/epic 8) life 6
    Sorinsal (Drow rogue 20/epic 5) life 2
    Quote Originally Posted by Memnir View Post
    What I think is OP is anyone who uses implemented game mechanics, standard game features, or their own skill to be more effective in quests then I am - so I then find the time to post complaints about their use of implemented game mechanics, standard game features, or their own skill thus making me OP on the forums.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bridge_Dweller View Post
    Here's a new flash for the people who have not evolved and still play sponge toons: you serve no purpose. it's rude, but it's the truth. Divines are powerful, have been for a long time. They don't need you. If you need them you add no value to the group.

  13. #53
    Community Member Derailment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bartharok View Post
    We disconnect because of your desire for the unreal be real. It is the way it is, all the lawyering in the world wont make it any different.
    Thanks, I appreciate your opinion, but I don't find it more "right" or "real" than mine.
    Now I understand you read "Critical Hit negated" as "Critical Hit Damage negated".
    Now I understand you read "Crit negated and damage rolled normally" as "Crit negated so damage rolled normally".
    This is not what written in rules. Let's agree to disagree here.

  14. #54
    Community Member Derailment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kierg10 View Post
    you read discontent as disconnect.

    also be your reasoning flaming burst extra crit damage should be negated by fortification as it is an effect that happens on a critical.
    Oh sorry I used wrong word.

    Yes, by my reasoning flaming burst would be negated too. Despite the fact Vua pointed to the rule which allows Flaming Burst to work on undead and golems, I still think Fortification trumps it, because Flaming Burst requires "striking a successful critical hit"
    Last edited by Derailment; 01-30-2013 at 02:05 PM.

  15. #55
    Community Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Another look at specific phrasings, as the moment when fortification is applied seems to be the contention:

    Quote Originally Posted by http://dndsrd.net/magicItemsAW.html
    When a critical hit or sneak attack is scored on the wearer, there is a chance that the critical hit or sneak attack is negated and damage is instead rolled normally.
    Critical hits are negated. Critical threats are not negated. This is the crux of it all.

    Quote Originally Posted by http://dndsrd.net/actionsInCombat.html
    When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 shows 20), you hit regardless of your target’s Armor Class, and you have scored a threat. The hit might be a critical hit (or “crit”). To find out if it’s a critical hit, you immediately make a critical roll — another attack roll with all the same modifiers as the attack roll you just made. If the critical roll also results in a hit against the target’s AC, your original hit is a critical hit.
    If you roll a 20, you threaten. You roll another d20 to confirm. If you do confirm, it's actually a critical hit, which is then negated by fortification. If you don't confirm, it was never a critical hit in the first place.

    Consequently,
    Quote Originally Posted by http://dndsrd.net/magicItemsAW.html
    Upon a roll of natural 20 (followed by a successful roll to confirm the critical hit), the weapon severs the opponent’s head (if it has one) from its body.
    It requires a successful roll to confirm the critical hit. It does not require a successful critical hit. Your roll to confirm was successful. You chop the enemy's head off.

    By this understanding, fortification would not stop vorpal.

    Quote Originally Posted by http://dndsrd.net/magicItemsAW.html
    a flaming burst weapon deals an extra 1d10 points of fire damage on a successful critical hit
    On the other hand, burst effects specify "on a successful critical hit" and so they would be blocked by fortification.
    Last edited by Malison; 01-30-2013 at 04:01 PM. Reason: added about burst weapons
    Cannith: Officer of Legit
    Beyt, Varsuvius, Lucznik, Ordeith, FirebatHero, Koniec

  16. #56
    Community Member Derailment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Malison View Post
    If you don't confirm, it was never a critical hit in the first place.
    Ok, can you explain why fortification doesnt work in the same way - as it was never a critical hit in the first place?
    Why do you need to roll confirmation and THEN discard results selectively?

    It does not require a successful critical hit. Your roll to confirm was successful
    Don't agree. You already rolled confirmation because 20 is also always threat. Do you roll confirmation TWICE, for crit and vorpal? No.

  17. #57

    Default

    This is why it takes two hours and a pizza delivery to resolve a single round of PnP. :P
    Brenna, Tzanna, and Tzinna Wavekin
    The Dancing Rogues of Argonnessen
    Ascent

  18. #58
    Community Member AbyssalMage's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3,566

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bartharok View Post
    Sir, you clearly have no idea of the mechanics of fortification, or the effects that are triggered by criticals.

    Fortification merely negates the critical damage, that is all it does (well, it negates sneak attack damage as well, but thats beside the point). It does not negate the critical roll.
    That is why (R)eading (I)s (F)undamental. Honestly, people are misunderstanding the word "Negates." Negates does not mean "Do not roll to confirm."

    Now if you are playing PnP, it usually is a waist of your time to make the second roll, although technically you should be rolling it just for the DM to say, "Sorry, your critical did not happen."

    A natural 20 always requires a 2nd roll (If you are playing by 3.x rules), but when you are doing PnP, DM's usually let you slide on the second roll for immune monsters.

  19. #59
    Hero
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    308

    Default

    So if Vorpal is blocked by fortification does that mean that a Golem using a heavy fortification shield would be immune to the special effect of the mace of smiting?

  20. #60
    Community Member Derailment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AbyssalMage View Post
    Honestly, people are misunderstanding the word "Negates." Negates does not mean "Do not roll to confirm."
    "Negates" is only part of problem. Second part is word "successful".

    Vorpal requires "a successful roll to confirm the critical hit". Was it successful, if the whole critical hit was "negated"?

    Or, more straightforward, how critical hit can be confirmed, if it was negated?

    When rules written in such ambigous way, we need another rule, like, Writing Is Fundamental..
    Last edited by Derailment; 01-30-2013 at 05:48 PM.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

This form's session has expired. You need to reload the page.

Reload