Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Unofficial Guide to Iron Defender Pets

Ok this is my first attempt at a guide so I hope people like it.

An Artificer and his Dog

Introduction
    Along with the new artificer class we are also getting several new (at least to DDO) game mechanics not seen to-date on the shores of Stormreach. One of the more exciting additions is a new type of companion; the Iron Defender. This new companion is classified as a pet and unlike other companions you can have (summons or hirelings) the player has some ability to customize their Iron Defender as they see fit.

The Basics
    When you first begin your career as an Artificer you gain an Iron Puppy. Though he is small he is vicious (much like a Halfling only better house trained). As you grow in power you pet grows in both stature and strength, he not only gets bigger his stats improve and you get Action Points (2 per level) to use to customize its training. These AP’s allow you to determine how you prefer to utilize the pet and are covered later on. The Iron Defenders beginning statistics and their evolution are:
    STR: Begins at 15 and increases by +1 at every Artificer level, 34 at 20th level

DEX: Begins at 14 and increases by +1 every 2 Artificer levels, 23 at 20th level

CON: Begins at 15 and increases by +1 at every Artificer level, 34 at 20th level

INT: Begins at 6 and increases by +1 ever 4 Artificer levels (5th, 9th, 13th, 17th), 10 at 20th level

WIS: Begins at 10 and increases by +1 every 2 Artificer level, 19 at 20th level

CHR: Begins at 10 and increases by +1 ever 4 Artificer levels (5th, 9th, 13th, 17th), 14 at 20th level