PDA

View Full Version : SWF Barbarian?

Gimpy007
01-02-2015, 02:15 PM
let me start off by saying I'm a barbarian newb. I've only ever played one to get the past life for completionist.

I've browsed the barbarian forums and I don't see any SWF builds taking advantage of the increased speed and melee power. Since the SWF line allows you to apply your str to the weapon (1.5) same as a THW ... why aren't I seeing builds with this?

Please tell me what I'm overlooking - why this type of build isn't popular.

Thanks

Gimpy007
01-02-2015, 03:00 PM
I should note that the reason for my question is because I'm looking to roll a barbarian soon.

Thanks again.

Qhualor
01-02-2015, 04:05 PM
I don't know but I've seen one or two in epics. DPS seems to be really good.

Zoda
01-02-2015, 04:45 PM
All 3 fighting styles are legit on barbs, it's personal preference.

Marmaduke
01-02-2015, 05:15 PM
It could be argued that it's too feat-intensive. A lot of aoe damage on a barb is from glancing blows - ie., the 2hf line. Getting both the 2hf and swf line of feats is not realistic on a pure barb... and the enhancement overhaul pretty much makes pure the way to go.

Azaghan
01-02-2015, 05:26 PM
It could be argued that it's too feat-intensive. A lot of aoe damage on a barb is from glancing blows - ie., the 2hf line. Getting both the 2hf and swf line of feats is not realistic on a pure barb... and the enhancement overhaul pretty much makes pure the way to go.

You can't take both lines, they are mutually exclusive

unbongwah
01-02-2015, 10:23 PM
I think a lot of people have pigeon-holed SWF as a bard-only style, due to the crazy DPS bonuses in Swashbuckler. And some of the DPS bonuses in barb are 2H-only, like Angry Arms & Mad Munitions. But the +30% atk speed +150% dmg mod makes it suitable for other melees, inc. barbs, IMHO. I recently LRed a BF pally into SWF w/Mornh and have been having fun. I would imagine a SWF barb wielding Deathnip etc. would work well too.

Seikojin