PDA

View Full Version : dumb question: can I splash Barb if I'm LG?



tc12
01-15-2008, 01:21 PM
My Dwarf is F12/Ra2. Considering my options when the cap goes up. Paladin isn't a good one because my CHA is base 6, and I don't have a slot for a CHA item with +6 STR/DEX/CON items on already.

Was wondering about 2 Barb levels next, but not sure if I could given my alignment. Does the non-lawful req apply only if starting Barb at lvl 1, or does a lawful alignment prevent splashing later too? I switch between defensive mode with DWA/shield and CE to damage mode with Greataxes and PA, so for the latter a few uses of Barb rage seem worth considering. Not seeing any specific reason to go more fighter, GWS already seemed kind of a waste as I didn't even notice the extra +2 damage really. Unless there's some uber enhancements coming that req F14+?

Beherit_Baphomar
01-15-2008, 01:22 PM
No, it applies always. If you're Lawful then you cant multiclass barb.

Arianrhod
01-15-2008, 01:24 PM
I'm pretty sure you can never take a barb (or bard) level if lawful, nor a paladin level if not LG. Doesn't matter whether it's at creation or later.

Emili
01-15-2008, 02:21 PM
NO! Barbarians are not lawful. They are generally more chaotic in nature... Even those who are neutral or NG have one chaotic trait ... RAGE. Rage throws rules of law out the window... Rage is a frenzy throwing laws out the door... It is a free of spirit ability in terms of how it works.

Lawful good combines honor and compassion.

Lawful neutral means are reliable and honorable without being a zealot.

Lawful evil is a dangerous alignment because it represents methodical, intentional, and frequently successful evil.

Chaotic good combines a good heart with a free spirit.

Chaotic neutral represents true freedom from both society’s restrictions and a do-gooder’s zeal.

Chaotic evil is a dangerous alignment because it represents the destruction not only of beauty and life but also of the order on which beauty and life depend.