PDA

View Full Version : Shield bashing for newbies

manningr
07-24-2007, 11:18 PM
Hello-
And please forgive me if this post doesn't belong here (after all, I AM a newbie, about two weeks in). I've looked around for really good information about shield bashing, but have found potentially outdated and sometimes conflicting reports. I would like to build a defensive/intimidate type paladin. Could someone explain the merits of shield bashing for me? How effective is it, how much damage does it usually inflict, how much aggro does it generate, and really- why would it ever be a better option than hacking away with an (awesome weapon of your choice)? All of this would be nice to know, especially before investing in "improved shield bash" when there are so many desirable options trying to catch my eye.

Thanks in advance, and happy adventuring!

Rasputin the neophyte paladin

ps- would this post have better luck if submitted in a different section of the forums?

Borror0
07-24-2007, 11:29 PM
Hi manningr! First, I'd adivse you to spalsh at least one level of fighter into your Paladin so you can max intimidate. IntimiTank are a great asset to a party, but you need to focus on Intimidate.

Secondly, I've took Improved Shield Bashing.... and I'm not too sure to keep it yet. I'll test it a bit, but I'm thinking about respec'ing it. Now, one thing you got to know is that, as a paldin, you will be very thin on feats. I would not advise it to you yet, I think there are much better feats for you.

Now, you're asking how much aggro does it generate? Not much, swinging with your weapon of choice does, in fact, deal more damage but sometimes,. when you grab the aggro of a lot of mobs, it is advised to Shield Block to avoid death. This is were ISB comes into effect, is it worth a feat, I fear not.

Ekental
07-25-2007, 05:49 AM
Shield bashing does little dmg compared to an actual weapon, and does not grant you your +5 and 10 mods on your 3rd and 4th swing (respectively).